top of page

Week 1 - Beginnings

Hello!

So school just started a few weeks ago, and that means that there's going to be a whole lot of assignments and stress. Time sure flies, it's my final year in school and i'm not really ready to leave it yet. (Just a couple of months left till graduation, yikes) Mainly, i'm just worried about my future. Hopefully life goes smoothly once my friends and i graduate and we'll all pursue a career that we love and are passionate about; and i hope we would all still keep in contact. :)

But enough of my personal thoughts. For now, i'll talk to you guys about a new personal mini project i'll be working on for the next few weeks!

I was inspired by these 2 illustrations done by Amanda Schank, titled "Sister of Ice" and "Sister of Fire", respectively, as seen below.

Her paintings really struck out to me, because of the soft brush strokes and how she managed to create something so elegant and melancholic. She said that the colours she used are "based of a palette made on adobe color app." I love the Adobe Kuler app because is a great tool for artists (like me) who are struggling with finding colours that work harmoniously.

So for my mini project, i was thinking of doing something similar. I'll create 2 bust shot illustrations of people representing epic contrasting (or similar) concepts/themes.

Some themes i had in mind are:

  • Space and Time

  • Life and Death

  • Love and Indifference

  • The Sun and the Moon

However, just like most of my other artworks, i would like to create something very personal so that i'll have a strong emotional connection with my illustrations.

This post is just an introdction to my mini project, i'll update more about it next week when i got some ideas and concepts running! Thanks for reading :)

-Syafiq

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page